Batch 3, Track 5 – Circus Mirror

Last modified: ‎Saturday, ‎27 ‎September, ‎2008, ‏‎2:20:54 AM.

Batch 3 was an attempt at creating within the framework of an album, with emphasis on the listening flow from one track to the next; whether I had achieved this or not is obviously up for debate (which I highly welcome). ‘Circus Mirror’ is the fifth track from the batch. The track’s title is a reference to those weird mirrors you would find at the fair or in fun houses: a regular person standing in front of a circus mirror would see him or herself stretched or squashed out of proportions (you could say that it makes wrong what’s right, and vice versa). Growing up, I suffered from really terrible acne, and I still do. There were many, many times where I find myself not wanting to leave the house because of how hideous I looked, and instead wanting for some version of the mirror that will allow me to see myself in a positive light. I guess that sense of wanting to escape the world and its (occasionally) frustrating norms are quite apparent in the track’s arrangement.

Leave a Reply

